unitingcare-logo Title Title

Our Board

Shalom Christian College is managed by a Board appointed by the Uniting Church in Australia (Qld Synod) and supported by the Uniting Church Schools Commission and its Executive Officer.

Its role includes appointing the Principal, monitoring the finances of the College, compliance and risk management, policy making and setting the strategic direction in line with the Uniting Church Basis of Union, the Regulations and the Covenant between Congress and the Uniting Church.

The Board is also supported by a Covenanting Working group which includes Congress members Rev Dennis Corowa and Aunty Jean Phillips as well as representatives of the Uniting Church. Rev Corowa is the Chaplain to Shalom Christian College and Elder to the Board. His role is one of theological and cultural reflective listener.


Rev Bruce Cornish

Rev Cornish is the Chair and Presbytery Minister of the North Queensland Presbytery of the Queensland Synod of the Uniting Church. Rev Cornish has both educational and theological qualifications and significant experience in serving Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples.  Rev Cornish currently sits on the John Flynn College Council and the Frontier Services Board. 


Professor Yvonne Cadet-James

Professor Cadet-James is currently the Chair of Indigenous Australian Studies; School of Indigenous Australian Studies; JCU and a Gugu Badhun Nation Elder. She is recognised widely as a researcher and publisher and is sought after in Indigenous advisory roles. Professor Cadet-James has an association with Shalom through assisting with cultural studies. Her professional qualifications are in the area of education and health.

Rev Dennis Corowa

Rev Dennis Corowa is the National UAICC Chair and Chair of the Queensland UAICC Regional Committee (Calvary Presbytery). Dennis has been involved with Congress since 1985, working in congregational ministry and school and prison chaplaincy.

Rev Dr Richard Wallace

Richard is a retired Minister of the Word of  the Uniting Church in Australia.  He has demonstrated support for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander pursuit of education and training as a teacher of theology at Nungalinya College, Darwin and as a ministry support worker for the Northern Regional Council of the Uniting Aboriginal and Islander Christian Congress. More recently, 2004-2012, Richard coordinated the National Leadership Training program for the UAICC.  From this experience he continues to support Australian Indigenous people’s desire for wholistic educational formation on the SCC board.

Scott Anderson

Scott Anderson has operated his own Consultancy Business for over 10 years and has worked extensively across a variety of industry sectors and within the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander community. Scott Anderson is the current Chair of the Townsville Regional Indigenous Business Network and is also a member of the Australian Christian Churches (ACC) National Indigenous Forum, which represents the interests of Indigenous Ministries within the ACC.

Jan Pool

Mrs Pool is an experienced non-executive director with a strong commitment to corporate governance and financial sustainability of not-for-profit and community based organisations. She is currently the Chair of DanceNorth, Independent Finance Director of Aboriginal Development Benefits Trust, Secretary of Townsville Chamber of Commerce and a Member of Townsville City Council – Community Safety Advisory Council. She has previously been a Director and Chair of Finance, Audit and Risk of Islanders Board of Industry and Service.

Providing a solid foundation to the role of a director, Mrs Pool has over 25 years’ experience as a senior finance and commercial executive and company secretary across a diverse range of industry sectors, including mining and refining, financial, legal and health services, indigenous business development and not-for-profits.